Planning training increases during cycle

I have had two instances of injury cycling. I honestly think it was because my strength increased faster than my ligaments or tendons could handle. My hypothesis is that I failed to follow a structured plan and just did whatever felt “good”. Sometimes that looked like trying to PR lifts every time in the gym. I have a degree in Exercise Science and some coaching certs and really all I have earned is enough knowledge to know I don’t know much…Hence a newbie member to UGMuscle. There are some OG’s on this site that seem like their shit is dialed. Pics dont lie. Id tag y’all if I knew how…

I know often times BB forums focus on supplementation and not diet or training. I’m grateful for that as I do use supplements but I am far more interested in training and diet. I believe AAS are an amazing tool once genetic potential has been reached or close to it but genetic potential can only be reached with diet and programming. Very few of us every got close to our potential before we looked outside ourselves.
I no longer want to be a mass monster but I do want to maximize every minute spent training. As I aged my time got more valuable. Less time = more expensive. That said, how do you guys/girls approach your planning for the weight room?

Do you use periodization?

Is there a certain degree of strength BB’ers look for or is body composition more important?
What about training during bulk v cutting ? Does it differ significantly ?

Do you base increases off of total weight lifted, reps of certain exercises, +/- % off of 1RM, etc…

I am super interested in the programming side of BB’ing and overall athletic development. The art of transformation is most appealing to me be it speed, strength. physique, etc. Thanks for the help from a total noob. I really am impressed by this forum. Thanks to all…!!

SC